Embracing Agile Leadership

Triskell Software recognized as a representative vendor in Gartner's 2021 Market Guide for APM Tools
Triskell Software recognized as a representative vendor in 2021 Gartner 2021 Market Guide for APM Tools
September 7, 2021
Auszeichnung für die Triskell Software als „Strategic Portfolio Management Provider“ im Forrester Report für SPM Tools Q3/2021.
Oktober 5, 2021
Embracing Agile Leadership

Embracing Agile Leadership

Was ist Agile Führung? Die digitale Transformation hat die Arbeitsweise vieler Unternehmen verändert. Märkte sind volatiler, Produktlebenszyklen werden kürzer und Kunden und Anwender fordern anspruchsvollere Produkte und Dienstleistungen, die auf ihre Bedürfnisse zugeschnitten sind.

In dieser sich ständig verändernden Umgebung ist ein Wandel der Führungsmentalität des Unternehmens unabdingbar, wenn das Unternehmen wettbewerbsfähig bleiben und flexibel Lösungen mit Wert in ihrem Markt bereit stellen will. Hier entsteht "Agile Leadership", im Management von Teams und Unternehmen. Woraus besteht es? Ist es eine vorübergehende Modeerscheinung?

Agile Methoden und die Notwendigkeit, sich an Veränderungen anzupassen

Durch die digitale Transformation mussten sich Unternehmen in den letzten 10-15 Jahren vielen Veränderungen stellen. Internet- und Cloud-Technologien haben neue und disruptive Geschäftsmöglichkeiten mit sich gebracht, die zuvor undenkbar waren. Ein neues Umfeld, in dem die Nachhaltigkeit von Unternehmen und ihre Wettbewerbsfähigkeit auf dem Markt häufig davon abhängt, wie und wann ein Produkt oder eine Dienstleistung auf den Markt gebracht wird, die genau den Bedürfnissen der Kunden entspricht.

Infolgedessen waren die Teams und auch die Organisationen gezwungen, sich zu verändern. Die schnellstmögliche Bereitstellung von Produkten und Dienstleistungen, die auf die Bedürfnisse der Benutzer zugeschnitten sind und maximalen Nutzen bringen, hat für Unternehmen höchste Priorität. Methoden wie „Agile“ und „Lean“ dienen dabei, unterschiedliche Rahmenbedingungen zu stellen. Verschiedene Arbeitsteams, die für das Design, die Entwicklung und die Produktion von Produkten und Dienstleistungen verantwortlich sind, erhalten eigene Umgebungen, um in kürzester Zeit Ergebnisse zu liefern.

Ebenfalls mussten die Teams ihre Physiognomie und Arbeitsweise ändern. Kontinuierliches Lernen auf der Basis von Experimenten und Trial Error ist in agilen Teams nicht nur für die Entwicklung von Produkten und Dienstleistungen, sondern auch für die Optimierung von Prozessen und Arbeitsabläufen unverzichtbar geworden, um effizient und in kürzester Zeit Werte zu liefern.

All dies erfolgt in einem Kontext, in dem die Zusammenarbeit zwischen den verschiedenen Arbeitsbereichen der Organisation zunehmend erforderlich ist, um Geschäftsziele zu erreichen. So werden Methoden wie OKR wichtig, um die verschiedenen Initiativen des Projektportfolios des Unternehmens im Hinblick auf die Erreichung der Ziele zu priorisieren. Denn eine Reihe von Zielen und Schlüsselergebnissen machen es erforderlich, eine Unternehmenskultur zu implementieren, in der Agilität, Wissen, Motivation der Mitarbeiter und zielorientiertes Arbeiten eine grundlegende Rolle spielen.

Manager vs. agile Führungskräfte

Welche Rolle spielen Manager in diesem Szenario? Vor der Ära der digitalen Transformation beschränkten sich die Verantwortlichkeiten von Teammanagern, allgemein als „Chefs“ bezeichnet, im Wesentlichen auf:

  • Anweisung: Im Sinne der alleinigen Autorität im Team, zu entscheiden, welche Projekte und Initiativen umgesetzt werden, sowie die notwendigen Ressourcen zuzuweisen und bereits im Vorfeld von seinem Vorgesetzten oder Top-Management festgelegte Liefertermine festzulegen.
  • Kontrolle: Sinngemäß, sicherstellen, dass die Teammitglieder die zugewiesenen Projekte und Aufgaben ausführen, ihren Fortschritt überwachen und alle Änderungen identifizieren, die nach eigenem Ermessen vorgenommen werden müssen.

Im Gegensatz zu dieser stark hierarchischen Führung ließ die digitale Transformation Abteilungen und Organisationen entstehen, die heute agil und iterativ arbeiten müssen. Agile Teams müssen sich auf Veränderungen einstellen können und aus Menschen mit unterschiedlichem Hintergrund, mit ganz unterschiedlichen Denk- und Arbeitsweisen bestehen. Sie müssen motiviert und sich der Bedeutung und des Wertes ihrer Arbeit für das Gesamtunternehmen bewusst sein.

Manager und Widerstand gegen Veränderungen

Ein Paradigmenwechsel erfolgte, bei dem die traditionelle Führung immer noch darum kämpft, ihren Platz zu finden. Tatsache ist, dass im agilen Zeitalter eine andere Herangehensweise an das Management erforderlich ist. So hat sich das Wort „Chef“ in vielen Unternehmen zu anderen Begriffen wie „Manager oder „Teamleiter“ entwickelt, die eine Erweiterung ihrer Kompetenzen innerhalb dieser Rolle bedeuten können. Sie konzentrieren sich auf die Gewährleistung eines effizienten Managements von Personen und Rollen innerhalb des Teams.

Einer der Hauptgründe, warum viele Organisationen bei der Umsetzung von Agile oder Lean scheitern, liegt gerade im Widerstand ihrer Führungskräfte gegenüber Veränderungen in diesem neuen Kontext. Diesen Menschen zu vermitteln, wie wichtig es ist, diese neue Form der agilen Führung anzunehmen, ist für den Erfolg der Organisation und der von ihnen geführten Teams und Mitarbeiter von entscheidender Bedeutung.

Was ist agile Führung?

Was ist agile Führung? Im Gegensatz zum personalistischen Ansatz, einer charakteristische Eigenschaften für die Eignung zur Führungskraft, und dem hierarchischen Ansatz des traditionellen Managements zielt Agile Leadership darauf ab, Teams zu befähigen, ihr volles Potenzial auszuschöpfen. Es zielt auf berufliche Entwicklung und kontinuierliches Lernen ab, an der Entscheidungsfindung teilzunehmen und Fehler als Quelle zur Stärkung der Kompetenzen der Mitarbeiter zum nutzen des Teams und der Menschen, die sie zusammensetzen zu erkennen.

In einem zunehmend wettbewerbsorientierten Markt, in dem die Benutzer aufgrund der unendlichen Palette von Produkten und Dienstleistungen, die ihnen zur Verfügung stehen, immer anspruchsvoller werden, hilft der agile Ansatz den Unternehmen, sich auf das zu konzentrieren, was wirklich Mehrwert schafft.

In diesem Zusammenhang müssen agile Führungskräfte - im Gegensatz zu traditionellem hierarchischem Management auf der Grundlage der Befehls- und Kontrollkette - als Vermittler fungieren, damit ihre Teams ihr volles Potenzial entfalten und in kürzester Zeit einen Mehrwert für die Organisation schaffen können.

Aus diesem Grund, abgesehen von den zuvor erwähnten Aufgaben von Anweisung und Kontrolle, wird die agile Führung durch eine Reihe von Funktionen nachhaltig, die es allen Teammitgliedern ermöglichen, sich auf ihre Projekte, Initiativen, Aufgaben usw zu fokussieren.

Eine Führungskraft jenseits des agilen Teams

Ob Scrum Master, PMO-Manager, Product Owner... Agile Führungskräfte müssen sowohl für ihre Teammitglieder als auch für die gesamte Organisation als Inspiration dienen und als Referenz für Veränderungen und agile Praktiken fungieren.

Es macht keinen Sinn, ein agiles Team zu führen, wenn beispielsweise der Scrum Master ungern mit anderen Teams kooperiert oder die berufliche Entwicklung und das Lernen seiner Mitarbeiter behindert. Agile Führungskräfte müssen mit gutem Beispiel vorangehen, indem sie diese guten Praktiken fördern. Nicht mit Worten, sondern mit Taten und damit als Vorbild, auf dessen Weg andere folgen.

Kontinuierliches Lernen als Schlüssel zu mehr Agilität

Agile Teams müssen oft in komplexen Projekten arbeiten, die neuer Fähigkeiten erfordern, über die nicht alle Teammitglieder verfügen. In der agilen Methodik selbst gibt es Veranstaltungen, wie die Retrospektive am Ende eines jeden Sprints, bei denen der Scrum Master oder andere Teammitglieder nach Analyse der Fortschritte in diesem Sprint Wissensdefizite zur Durchführung bestimmter Aufgaben erkennen und als Wissenstransfer vermitteln können.

Lassen solchen Situationen die Notwendigkeit erkennen eine oder mehrere Personen in einem bestimmten Bereich zu schulen, sollten agile Führungskräfte dies als Chance zur Verbesserung des Teams sehen.

Sie entwickelt damit verschiedene Fähigkeiten im Team, die am Ende einen unterschiedlichen Wert für die Organisation darstellen. Es ist die Möglichkeit zur Steigerung der Effizienz bei der Wertschöpfung für das Unternehmen.

Falsch ist dies als Hindernis für die Durchführung bestimmter Aufgaben und Projekte zu betrachten. Anstatt ihre Teammitglieder zu hindern sich Wissen anzueignen, aus Angst, diese könnten die Organisation verlassen, sollte eine agile Führung die kontinuierliche Weiterbildung in ihren Teams fördern.

Motivierte Teams und Menschen.

Agiles Führen verlangt nicht jeden in der Organisation zu motivieren. Die Herausforderung für agile Führungskräfte besteht auch nicht darin, die individuellen Interessen jedes einzelnen Mitarbeiter zu bedienen, sondern diejenigen Faktoren zu eliminieren, die ein demotivierendes Element für Menschen sein können, wie zum Beispiel:

  • Fehlende Schulungspläne für die Mitarbeiter.
  • Blockaden für eine berufliche Laufbahn im Unternehmen.
  • Nicht in der Lage zu sein, an der Entscheidungsfindung im Team teilzunehmen.
  • Mangelnde Eigenständigkeit eigene Aufgaben ausführen zu können.
  • Usw.

Hindernisse und Engpässe beseitigen

Im Projektmanagement oder in der Produkt- oder Serviceentwicklung können die verschiedenen Teams auf Hindernisse stoßen, die ein Vorankommen verhindern, oder auf Engpässe, welche die Umsetzung von Aufgaben verzögern.

Agile Führungskräfte müssen hier als Moderatoren agieren. Das heißt, wenn die Mitglieder eines agilen Teams bei der Entwicklung eines Projekts, Produkts usw. auf Hindernisse stoßen, ist es die Aufgabe des Scrum Masters, die Kontrolle zu übernehmen und alles in seiner Macht Stehende zu tun, um dem Team ein ungestörtes Arbeiten zu ermöglichen.

Dezentralisierung der Entscheidungsfindung

Anders als in traditionelleren Unternehmen, in denen Manager bei allen Entscheidungen ihrer Geschäftseinheit das letzte Wort haben, stärkt agiles Führen die Delegation von Entscheidungen an andere versierte Personen innerhalb der Organisation. Für eine agile Bereitstellung von Produkten und Dienstleistungen bedeuten hierarchische Entscheidungen oftmals nur Engpässe und verzögerte Liefertermine.

Die Dezentralisierung der Entscheidungsfindung macht die Arbeitswege agiler Teams effizienter. Dies bedeutet nicht, dass alle Entscheidungen einfach delegiert werden können. Bestimmte Entscheidungen strategischer Natur für das Team oder die Organisation können nicht dezentralisiert werden. Bestimmte Entscheidungen können aber an Personen delegiert werden, die aufgrund ihrer Rolle oder Erfahrung dafür qualifiziert sind.

Vorteile agiler Führung

Agile Führungskräfte werden aufgrund ihrer neuen Funktionen, die sie in diesem neuen Geschäftskontext erfüllen müssen, zu Schlüsselelementen bei der Erreichung strategischer Ziele. Zudem inspiriert diese neue Art der Führung die Menschen, ihr Bestes zu geben, sich in das, was sie tun, einzubringen und sich erfüllt zu fühlen, wenn das Team und die Organisation die gesetzten Ziele erreicht.

Unternehmen, die diese neue Realität weiterhin ablehnen und diese Art des Managements hinauszögern, werden vielleicht zu spät erkennen, dass sie ihre strategischen Ziele verfehlen und ihre Marktpositionierung leidet. Es gibt unzählige Vorteile, die agile Führung der Organisation bringt, fünf davon führen wir hier für Sie exemplarisch auf.

1. Auf Wertschöpfung konzentrierte Teams

Agile Führung fördert Teams, sich auf das zu konzentrieren, was wirklich wichtig ist. Dies ermöglicht einen Mehrwert für die Organisation, da Effizienz und Exzellenz die Leitprinzipien sind, die den Weg für agile Teams ebnen. Diese Teams können sich auf Initiativen und Prozesse konzentrieren, die der Organisation wirklich einen Mehrwert verleihen.

2. Teamwork als Basis für die Zielerreichung

Mit Agile Leadership gibt es keinen Personalismus oder organisatorische Silos mehr. Die neue Form des Managements richtet sich auf Teams und den Wert aus, den es der Organisation bieten. Die Agile Methode fordert Teams aus Menschen mit unterschiedlichem Hintergrund, damit jeder von jedem lernen kann und kein Platz für Egozentrik ist. Sie sollen offen sein, ständig mit anderen Bereichen der Organisation zusammenzuarbeiten, um gemeinsam die strategischen Ziele der Organisation zu erreichen.

3. Belastbarkeit und Stärke im Angesicht von Widrigkeiten

Agile Teams können Veränderungen gut verkraften. Viele agile Teams arbeiten heute in Bereichen wie Entwicklung, Hardware, Software, Engineering, IT usw. auf Basis von Experimenten und Trial-and-Error-Tests. Agile Teams sollen Fehler und Widrigkeiten nicht fürchten, sondern sie als Chance zur Verbesserung nutzen.

Das sich verändernde Umfeld von heute erfordert starke Führungskräfte und Teams, die in der Lage sind, Misserfolge positiv zu nutzen und nicht als Vorwand zu verwenden, um mit dem Finger auf andere zu zeigen. Jeder kann Verantwortung übernehmen, um das Team zu verbessern und zu stärken.

4. Prozess- und Workflow-Optimierung

Die agile Methode konzentriert sich darauf, in kürzester Zeit Werte zu liefern. Agile Führungskräfte müssen all jene Elemente eliminieren, die ein Hindernis für die effiziente Arbeit ihrer Teams darstellen können. Daher konzentrieren sich Unternehmen, die diesen Ansatz verfolgen, auf die Optimierung ihrer Prozesse und Arbeitsabläufe, damit Teams zeitnah Werte liefern können.

5. Erhöhtes Engagement für die Organisation

Das vom Agile Leadership geförderte „best practices“ gibt den Menschen das richtige Gefühl, um sich mit ihrem Team sowie mit den Aufgaben und Vision der Organisation zu identifizieren. Indem die Organisationen die Mitarbeiter in den Unternehmenserfolg einbeziehen, sie durch kontinuierliche Weiterbildung voll beruflich weiterentwickeln und in die Organisation mitentscheiden lassen, erreichen diese eine höhere Bindung der Mitarbeiter an die Organisation und damit geringere Personalfluktuation im Unternehmen.

Fazit: Agile Leadership: Der Weg zum Erfolg Ihres Unternehmens

Dank des neuen agilen Führungsansatzes können sich Unternehmen auf das konzentrieren, was der Organisation wirklich einen Mehrwert bringt. Sie sind flexibler gegenüber Veränderungen, vor allem dank der Möglichkeit für Einzelpersonen und Teams, ihre Kompetenzen zu entwickeln und die Entscheidungsfindung auf weitere Personen innerhalb der Teams und des Unternehmens auszudehnen.

Wenn Sie in Ihrer Abteilung bereits einen agilen Ansatz implementieren, aber bestimmte Manager die Vorteile der Änderung nur ungern sehen, machen Sie sich keine Sorgen, folgen Sie den agilen Praktiken selbst, damit sie sich diesem neuen Ansatz anschließen. Trainieren Sie sie, beteiligen Sie sie an einer größeren Anzahl von Entscheidungen und gehen Sie schließlich mit gutem Beispiel voran, damit sich agile Praktiken in der gesamten Organisation durchsetzen.

Mehr Inhalte zur Triskell Software. Abonniere unseren Newsletter.

Sie interessieren sich für unsere Inhalte? Möchten Sie sich weiter über Methoden wie Agile, SAFe und OKR für ein effizienteres Management Ihres Projektportfolios informieren? Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter, um mehr von dieser Art von Inhalten zu erhalten.

 

Fill out the form below to request a Triskell personal demo:

    First Name (required)

    Last Name (required)

    Company (required)

    Email (required)

    Job Title (required)

    Country (required)

    Phone (required)

    What is your current need

Embracing Agile Leadership

Triskell Software recognized as a representative vendor in Gartner's 2021 Market Guide for APM Tools
Triskell Software recognized as a representative vendor in 2021 Gartner 2021 Market Guide for APM Tools
September 7, 2021
Triskell Software, sponsor of the 2021 Global SAFe Summit
September 22, 2021
Embracing Agile Leadership

Embracing Agile Leadership

What is Agile leadership? Digital transformation has changed the way many organizations work. Markets are more volatile, product life cycles are becoming shorter, and customers and users are demanding more sophisticated products and services tailored to their needs.

In this changing environment, a change in the company’s management mentality is absolutely essential for enterprises if they do not want to lose competitiveness in their market and being more agile when it comes to providing solutions that represent value in the market. And it is here, in the management of both teams and companies, where Agile leadership emerges. What does it consist of? Is it a passing fad?

  1. Agile methodologies and the need to adapt to change.
  2. Managers vs Agile leaders.
    1. Managers and resistance to change
  3. What is Agile leadership?
    1. A leader beyond the Agile team.
    2. Continuous learning as the key to being more agile.
    3. Motivated teams and people.
    4. Eliminate obstacles and bottlenecks.
    5. Decentralization of decision-making.
  4. Benefits of Agile leadership.
    1. Teams focused on delivering value.
    2. Teamwork as the basis for the achievement of objectives.
    3. Resilience and strength in the face of adversity.
    4. Process and workflow optimization.
    5. Increased commitment to the organization.
  5. Conclusion: Agile Leadership: the path to your organization's success.
  6. Want more content from Triskell Software? Subscribe to our newsletter.

Agile methodologies and the need to adapt to change

Companies have had to face many changes over the last 10-15 years as a result of digital transformation. Internet and cloud technologies have brought with it new and disruptive business opportunities previously unthinkable. And an environment in which the sustainability of companies and their competitiveness in the market is a matter, in many cases, of launching a product or service that does not meet the needs that customers demand at that time.

As a result, teams and organizations have been forced to change. Delivering value in the form of products and services tailored to users' needs as soon as possible has become the top priority for enterprises. And, for this purpose, methodologies such as Agile and Lean have served to put on the table different frameworks on which the different work teams in charge of the design, development and production of products and services can deliver them in the shortest possible time.

The teams have also had to change their physiognomy and ways of working. Continuous learning based on experimentation and trial error has become indispensable in Agile teams not only for the development of products and services but also for the optimization of processes and workflows, which is indispensable for delivering value efficiently and in the shortest possible time.

And all this in a context in which collaboration between the different work areas of the organization is increasingly necessary to achieve business objectives, where methodologies such as OKR, where the different initiatives of the company's project portfolio must be created and prioritized in pursuit of the achievement of a series of objectives and key results, make it necessary to implement a business culture where agility, knowledge, the motivation of the workers and working by objectives play a fundamental role.

Managers vs Agile leaders

And, in this scenario, what is the role of managers? Before the digital transformation era, the responsibilities of team managers, commonly referred to as 'Bosses', were basically limited to:

  • Command: in the sense of being the only authorized voice within the team to decide which projects and initiatives are implemented, as well as to allocate the necessary resources, and to determine delivery dates, already established in advance by his superior or Top Management.
  • Control, i.e., making sure that team members are doing the assigned projects and tasks, monitoring their progress and indicating any modifications that need to be made at their sole discretion.

In contrast to this highly hierarchical management, the digital transformation brought with it departments and organizations that need to work in an agile and iterative way. Agile teams must be able to adapt to change, be made up of people from different backgrounds and with totally different ways of thinking and working, who must be motivated and made aware of the importance and value of their work for the company as a whole.

Managers and resistance to change

A paradigm shift in which traditional leadership is struggling to find its space. While in many corporations the word 'Boss' has evolved to other terms such as 'Manager Or 'Team Leader', which may denote an expansion of their competencies within this role, focused on ensuring efficient management of people and roles within the team, The truth is that in the Agile era a different way of approaching management is required.

One of the main reasons why many organizations fail when trying to implement Agile or Lean is precisely because of their leaders' resistance to change in this new context. Instilling in these people the importance of embracing this new form of agile leadership is essential for the success of the organization and the teams and people they manage.

What is Agile leadership?

Now, what is Agile Leadership? Contrary to the personalism and hierarchical approach of traditional management, Agile Leadership seeks to enable teams to reach their full potential by focusing on professional development and continuous learning, in participation in decision making, and in using failures as a source of strengthening the competencies of the teams and the people who compose them.

In an increasingly competitive market, where users, due to the infinite range of products and services available to them, are becoming more and more demanding. the Agile approach helps companies to focus on what really adds value.

In this context, Agile leaders, unlike traditional hierarchical management based on the chain of command and control, must act as facilitators, so that their teams can develop their full potential and deliver value to the organization in the shortest possible time.

For this, and leaving aside the tasks of Command and Control mentioned before, Agile leadership is sustained by a series of functions that will make it possible for all team members to focus on their projects, initiatives, tasks, etc ... in an efficient way.

A leader beyond the Agile team

Whether you are a Scrum Master, PMO manager, Product Owner... Agile leaders must serve as an inspiration, both for their team members and the entire organization, and act as a reference for change and Agile practices.

There is no point in leading an Agile team if, for example, the Scrum Master is reluctant to cooperate with other teams, or hinders the professional development and learning of his employees. Agile leaders must lead by example by promoting these good practices. Not with words, but with deeds, and thus be a reference and that others follow the path.

Continuous learning as the key to being more agile

Agile teams often have to work with complex projects that require learning new skills that not all team members have. In the Agile methodology itself, there are events, such as the retrospective at the end of each Sprint, in which, after analyzing the progress made in that Sprint, the Scrum Master or other team members can detect knowledge deficits to carry out certain tasks.

In these situations, Agile leaders, if they detect the need that one or more people need training in a particular area, instead of approaching it as an impediment to the completion of certain tasks and projects, should see it as an opportunity to improve the team and be more efficient in delivering value to the organization.

Therefore, Agile leadership, instead of hindering their teams from acquiring knowledge for fear that they may leave the organization, should encourage continuous training in their teams so that they develop more skills that, in the end, will represent a differential value for the organization.

Motivated teams and people

A leader alone cannot keep everyone in the organization motivated. The challenge for Agile leaders here is not to keep all staff happy, satisfying the individual interests of each of them. The challenge for Agile leaders here is not to keep all the staff happy by satisfying the individual interests of each of them but to eliminate those factors that can be a demotivating element for people, such as:

  • Lack of a training plan for employees.
  • The impossibility of being able to carry out a professional career in the company.
  • Not being able to be part of the decision-making within the team.
  • Lack of autonomy to be able to perform your tasks
  • Etc.

Eliminate obstacles and bottlenecks

In project management or product or service development, different teams may encounter blocking points that prevent them from moving forward or bottlenecks that make progress along some of the tasks slower than desirable.

Agile leaders must act as facilitators. That is, if the members of an Agile team encounter blocking elements when developing a project, product, etc., it is the Scrum Master's task to take control and do everything in its power to unlock it.

Decentralization of decision-making

Unlike in more traditional companies, where managers ultimately have the last word in all decisions, Agile leadership encourages the delegation of decisions to other people within the organization. For an agile delivery of products and services, hierarchical decision-making will only create bottlenecks and delay delivery dates.

Decentralizing decision-making will make the workflow of Agile teams more efficient. This does not mean that all decisions can be delegated since certain decisions of a strategic nature for the team or the organization cannot be decentralized. But you can delegate certain decisions to those people who, due to their role or experience, are qualified to take them.

Benefits of Agile leadership

Agile leaders, thanks to these new functions that they have to perform in this new business context, become a key element in achieving the strategic objectives of organizations. This new type of leadership inspires people to give their best, to get involved in what they are doing, and to feel fulfilled once the team and the organization have achieved the goals they have set.

Companies that continue to refuse to accept this new reality and delay this new type of management will see how their strategic objectives and market positioning will suffer. There are countless benefits that Agile leadership brings to the organization, but we can summarize them in five.

Teams focused on delivering value

Agile leadership encourages teams to focus on what really matters and brings value to the organization, being efficiency and excellence the guiding principles that light the way for Agile teams. By focusing only on initiatives and processes that really add value to the organization, Agile leaders make their teams more efficient.

Teamwork as the basis for the achievement of objectives

With Agile leadership, there is no more personalism or organizational silos. The new management focuses on teams and the value they provide to the organization. Teams should be made up of people from different backgrounds so that each person can learn from everyone else and there is no room for egocentrism. And they must also be open to constantly cooperate with other areas of the organization so that, together, the strategic objectives of the organization are achieved.

Resilience and strength in the face of adversity

Agile teams are resilient to change. The work of many Agile teams in areas like development, hardware, software, engineering, IT, etc., is based on experimentation and trial-and-error testing. Agile leaders want their teams not to fear failure and adversity, but to use them as an opportunity for improvement.

Today's changing environment requires solid leaders and teams that are capable of using failure not as a pretext to point fingers and purge responsibilities but to improve and become stronger as a team.

Process and workflow optimization

Agile focuses on delivering value in the shortest possible time. Agile leaders have to eliminate all those elements that can be an obstacle for their teams to work efficiently. Therefore, companies that adopt this approach focus on optimizing their processes and workflows so that teams can deliver value in a timely manner.

Increased commitment to the organization

The good practices promoted by Agile leadership make people feel identified with their team and with the mission and vision of the organization. By involving them in the success of the company, allowing them to fully develop professionally by encouraging continuous training, and allowing them to participate in decision-making in the organization, you achieve a higher rate of employee commitment to the organization and, therefore, a lower turnover of staff in the company.

Conclusion: Agile Leadership, the path to your organization's success

Thanks to this new Agile leadership approach, companies can focus on what really brings value to the organization. They are more flexible to change, thanks in large part to the possibility for individuals and teams to develop their competencies, and to extend the decision-making core to more elements within the teams and the company.

If you are already implementing an Agile approach in your department but there are certain managers who are reluctant to see the advantages of the change, don't worry, follow the Agile practices themselves so that they join this new approach. Train them, make them participate in a greater number of decisions and, ultimately, lead by example so that Agile practices end up prevailing throughout the organization.

Want more content from Triskell Software? Subscribe to our newsletter

Are you interested in our content? Do you want to continue learning about methodologies such as Agile, SAFe and OKR for a more efficient management of your project portfolio? Subscribe to our newsletter to receive more of this kind of content.

 

Fill out the form below to request a Triskell personal demo:

    Company (required)

    First Name (required)

    Last Name (required)

    Email (required)

    Country (required)

    Phone (required)